7 replies to this topic

#1 jarome

jarome

RAGE User

• RAGE Members
  • PipPip
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 07:13 PM

I am new to MacExplorer. It seems just like what I want, coming from Windows.

But I have a few issues so far:

1) When I mount my Linux samba share, its folders in the left-hand pane are not alphabetized. The Mac folders are. How do I fix this since this contains all my music -- a folder for each composer, and I have a lot of them. See left pane of attachment.

2) Creating a new folder is not nice at all. IMHO, right-clicking a folder should have a "New Folder" item. And if you make a new folder, the view should jump to that folder, with the name ready to be edited. Or better yet, a pop-up asking for the name should appear. As it is, I have to scroll down to the U's.

3) I would also like to see the right-hand pane put the folders first, and then to sort the folders and any files alphabetically. I do not see a way to do this. I have the "sort directories first" checked. That seems to do nothing. See attachment.

4) When a new folder or file is created, the view should refresh automatically. I am forever hitting the refresh button. Finder refreshes automatically. Why not MacExplorer?

5) Copying files seems to be hard. Often I cannot be sure of the target folder. In Windows I can click in the folder (to the right) and it does not select any item, so I can be sure that the folder is my target. I do not seem to be able to copy a file in MacFinder and paste it in Finder.

Well, attachments do not work. I got your error message: "
The requested file upload failed because suitable permissions have not been enabled on the 'uploads' directory. Please contact the board administrator and inform them of this error."

More problems:
1) I edited the name of an mp3 track by putting a "1. " at its start. The displayed name changed to Chinese characters! (But the real name was still there).