How To Publish Only Changes With iWeb SEO Tool

September 21st, 2012

If you want to speed up your publish time when uploading through iWeb SEO Tool, you can publish only your modified files in iWeb. The tutorial below will illustrate exactly what you need to do;


If you use iWeb 09, here is how you can publish only your modified files using iWeb SEO Tool.

First, when you make a change to one of your pages in iWeb, you will notice how the page icon turns from blue to red. Red indicates that a change has been made and that this page and all of its files must be republished. When you are finished making changes, make sure that you are publishing to a local folder on your hard drive, and then click on this Publish Site button in the lower left corner of the application. This will only publish the pages and files associated with those red icons.

Next, load the site in iWeb SEO Tool. Click on the Re-Apply Saved tags button. Make any changes you want if any, and then click on the Publish button. On this publish window, ensure that the option for Publish Entire Site is not checked. You can now upload only your changes. This will be the fastest way to publish your site through iWeb SEO Tool. If you were to publish your entire site each time, if would take longer to complete.

Remember, only use this method when you have made changes to your site. If this is your first time publishing with iWeb SEO Tool, you will want to make sure that the entire site is being published. After that initial publish, you can begin using this method.

4 Responses to “How To Publish Only Changes With iWeb SEO Tool”

  1. Bruce Says:

    I followed your instructions after changing only one page. When I unchecked the Publish Entire Site box, it still published my Photos page and Video page even though no changes were made on those pages.

  2. paul Says:

    Are you sure it doesn’t say ‘Skipping file…’ while publishing those pages?

  3. Kathryn Says:

    I am so hoping you can help.

    I have republished several times using both the shortened, ie., not the entire website as well as publish the entire website. I have cleared the cache on the 3 browsers. I even have made 2 new pages (with the new photos that I had replaced on the previously published 2 pages), updated the link information on dozens of pages and republished the entire websites, BUT, the old photos (which no longer exist on the new pages and never were on the new pages) are still there. I’ve republished, published now 8 times, and the old photos aren’t being replaced.

    Do you have any solutions for this problem? It seems the iweb SEO is skipping the pages that have changes on them.

    Much appreciated. Kathryn

  4. paul Says:

    I’m not sure I understand the problem. If older images are displaying in your web browser when you visit the page you either;

    1. Didn’t enter the correct directory path in your FTP settings window. You need to get the correct one from your web hosting provider
    2. Your web hosting provider is caching your website and they need to clear the cache on their end

    If you mean your images are still on your web server when you login via FTP, then you need to delete these manually.

Leave a Reply