3 replies to this topic

#1 Dave McCullough

Dave McCullough

RAGE User

• RAGE Members
  • PipPip
  • 5 posts

Posted 22 April 2005 - 02:46 PM

I want to emulate the "Breaking News" ticker at theglobeandmail.com. I don't need quite the same complexity: theirs is dynamically generated, with the text and the link changing to reflect the top six breaking news stories at any given point in time.

Mine will be static: the same six pieces of text, each with its own link, scrolling across the top of the web page (http://realdogz.ca)

I opened their ticker using WebDesign's nifty "Open from URL..." feature. It can be found at http://theglobeandma...ickerFrame.html

I also opened up their javascript file, which is at http://theglobeandma...s/NewsTicker.js

Unfortunately, I'm not a javascript expert. I'm not even a javascript novice. My specialty is server-side (php and mysql). I can't figure out how their ticker works. All I know is that it doesn't work when I try to cut and paste it to my site.

All the scripts I found on the web were out of date.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

#2 paul

paul

RAGE User

• RAGE Members
  • PipPip
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 April 2005 - 03:22 PM

Hi Dave,

Why don't you just use PHP. Use an array to store your links ( or a DB) and use rand(0, numberoflinks) to choose a random headline and link from your array and print it at the top of your page.

I am guessing you want that kind of effect? You may want to look at some other techniques to bring attention to the news which may be easier to use such as the CSS blink feature (though it is not widely supported at all :(.)

{text-decoration: blink;}